Debut of…”Falling n’ Love”

I grew up in South Georgia listening to traditional Gospel music artists like The Williams Brothers, Mississippi Mass Choir and the Jackson Southernaires because of my Daddy’s influence. He was a Baptist deacon and preacher who died of an aneurysm when I was 16.

It wasn’t until I heard Heaven by BeBe and CeCe Winans that I ever considered Gospel music could sound more like R&B. I was mesmerized by their sound, their style and their vocals. What a breath of fresh air!

Through the years, I’ve performed a variety of cover songs and I’ve started doing some original material. From the sound booth to the stage, I’ve discovering my own sound and I’m embracing a wide array of musical possibilities.

Like Rihanna, I don’t want to be relegated to one sound. I love all kinds of music, and I hope the body of musical work I create will be a reflection of that.

In general, I want to focus on Contemporary Gospel music. That’s what I feel called to do and it’s what I love. And I want the music to cover multiple sounds – R&B, Neo-Soul, Pop and Contemporary Christian.

So here it is. One of the first Contemporary Gospel songs I’m officially sharing for public consumption, Falling n’ Love. It was written and produced by Brian “KC” Cunningham, a Contemporary Gospel artist, songwriter and producer who’s incredibly talented.

I did the lead vocals in two takes and I did the background vocals in the same session. I’m a beast on the mic when I’m in the zone!

I hope you’ll listen to my song, like it on my SoundCloud and download Track #8 on Brian’s album, “VII: R2P.”

More to come…

Leave a Reply

